Council Member Profiles

Professor D Alderson, President

Professor D Alderson Derek Alderson is the Barling Professor and Head of the Department of Surgery at the University of Birmingham. He took up this post in 2005, having previously been Professor of gastrointestinal surgery at Bristol. His main area of clinical interest is oesophagogastric surgery. He is currently editor-in-chief of the British Journal of Surgery. Professor Alderson is committed to improving surgical standards at all levels through education, research and clinical performance. He is currently the president of the Royal College of Surgeons of England.

Professor A Hill, President-Elect

Hill, Arnold Professor Hill is the Head of School of Medicine and Professor and Chair of Surgery at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. He graduated from UCD and did his surgical training in Dublin and London. He followed this with a two year fellowship at The Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania and the New York Hospital/Cornell Medical Center in the United States.

He returned to Ireland to do his Senior Registrar training on the National Training Programme. Before taking up his position as Consultant he returned to the Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre to complete a Clinical Fellowship in Surgical Oncology.

His clinical interests are in the area of breast cancer and melanoma. His laboratory research interests are in the transcriptional control of breast cancer, in particular, the role of the coregulatory proteins.

Professor Hill is the national advisor for surgical oncology for the National Cancer Control Programme. His clinical practice is in Breast, General and Endocrine Surgery at Beaumont Hospital Dublin.

Council Members

  • Professor S White

    Professor S White, Honorary Secretary

  • Professor A Davies

    Professor A Davies, Honorary Treasurer

  • Frank Smith

    Professor F Smith, Programme

  • K Saeb-Parsy

    Mr K Saeb-Parsy, M’ship Chair

  • Professor S White

    Pofessor T Underwood, Council Member

  • Rachel Hargest

    Ms Rachel Hargest, Council Member

  • Ms Lorna Marson

    Ms Lorna Marson, Council Member

  • N Blencowe

    Miss Natalie Blencowe, ASiT Rep

Comments are closed.